Reviews

9.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.5
Comfort
9.2
Property location
9.6
Facilities
9.2
Staff
9.7
Value
8.3

Reviews

    Elaine
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    23 May 2018

    Brilliant chance to immerse yourself in Japenese culture

    The Japenese experience from dressing up in the traditional clothing to using the hot baths
    paolo
    it

    Review score

    9.6
    23 May 2018

    An Tradition and romantic place in japan.

    It's a wonderful Ryokan. The Staff were excellent and perfect. The Onsen and location are excellent!!
    PABLO DIAZ
    es

    Review score

    8.8
    22 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Wolfgang
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    22 May 2018

    Enjoyable cultural experience.

    .The different cultural experience. The staff were very attentive.
    au

    Review score

    10
    21 May 2018
    There wasn’t anything. It was the highlight of our trip.
    This was the highlight of our trip. We felt very welcomed and the accommodation itself was perfect. It’s very quiet despite being situated so close to everything; like the bus terminal that travels to Shirakawa-go, the train, the old town, good food and the river. It was a great experience to use the onsen (hot baths) for the first time there too. We will definitely come back if we’re in the area again.
    shaun
    au

    Review score

    10
    21 May 2018

    A great location which was very relaxing, with 5 star staff

    The staff were so nice and friendly from the moment you walked in, even recommended a great local restaurant that offered one of the best dishes I had in Japan.
    Yona
    il

    Review score

    9.6
    20 May 2018

    A place I will highly recommend for future stay

    Could be perfect if a dinner option be available at the site (as used to be till 2017) or a possible advanced arrangement options for reserved seats in a nearby dinner restaurant places
    Wonderful welcome and check-in process. Great Japanese & Western breakfast options. Very helpful staff, comfortable rooms. In general a very good Japanese relaxed experience
    Hui
    cn

    Review score

    9.2
    19 May 2018
    The hot spring pool is not real.
    Very good service and cleanliness.
    Paul
    sg

    Review score

    7.9
    17 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    alison
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    15 May 2018

    A fabulous memorable Japanese experience

    Bigger tea cups!!
    The staff are delightful and caring...great location. Fabulous experience
    gb

    Review score

    10
    15 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    kerrie
    au

    Review score

    10
    13 May 2018

    Perfect place to stay, we loved our stay here!

    Nothing!
    Perfect place to stay. From the very friendly, pleasant, helpful staff. To the lovely foyer. Great room and onsen. Location perfect, close to train station, but also the restaurants and old area. We LOVED our stay here.
    gil
    il

    Review score

    10
    11 May 2018
    Amazing service. The room was very large and comfortable with a couch and capsule espresso maker. Very well designed in general.
    Lawrence
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    22 May 2018

    Nice tatami room. Too many staff with limited responsibilities

    Too many rules checking in.
    The room
    Trevor
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    22 May 2018

    Traditional Japanese hotel of the highest quality

    There was actually absolutely nothing to complain about.
    Wow. What an experience. We chose Oyado Koto No Yume as our hotel to stay in Takayama primarily to experience the traditional hotel experience and we were not disappointed. From the moment we stepped through the door we were treated with great respect. Removing our shoes, we were seated and provided with tea and a traditional cake, while a kneeling gentleman went through the check-in process with us. We were then shown to our traditional Ryokan style room, complete with tatami mats and low table, etc. Also supplied with traditional Japanese clothing and shoes, which we wore out to a local restaurant. Brilliant experience. Highly recommended and all of the staff were top grade.
    Aastha Sood
    sg

    Review score

    9.2
    20 May 2018

    Our best stay in Japan

    Nothing
    The rooms were huge for Japan and the staff could not have been nicer. The onsen and the Japanese breakfast were great too.
    Shannon Murphy
    us

    Review score

    10
    19 May 2018
    Nothing
    Staff was very welcoming and eager to help. Location is central to Takayama conveniently located near the jr station. Facilities were superb and easy to use/understand for a first time ryokan visitor.
    ca

    Review score

    7.5
    19 May 2018
    Overrated. A bit dated on the inside and the furniture is worn out. The private hot spring room is not well kept.
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    16 May 2018

    Great traditional Japanese style accommodation in Takayama

    Great small Japanese onsen type property in town convenient to train. Amazing staff, friendly, and very helpful.
    Barbara
    us

    Review score

    10
    13 May 2018

    Wonderful ryokan in great Gion location.

    Nothing!
    We really enjoyed our stay here! This was the only ryokan-type inn or hotel that we stayed at in Japan (the others were typical hotels) and we loved it! The service was classic Japanese and impeccable and the facilities were beautiful. The location, in Gion, was very convenient for the buses to get around town and also for walking around the interesting Gion neighborhoods. We enjoyed the onsen baths on-site. We used the public baths (there is a private bath that can be booked separately), but at the time that my husband and I used the baths, no one else was using them, so we had them to ourselves. I really loved that experience. There is both a large indoor bath and a smaller outdoor bath (open to the sky but otherwise private). It did not take us long to get used to walking around the inn in our beautiful cotton yukata provided when we arrived.
Loading reviews